Bitter Lake Recordings - Diastereomer - Ignition Advancer LP

Article number: BLR-004
Quantity: 4
Diastereomer was a new wave duo formed in Tokyo by high school friends Katsuya Shoman and Yoshio Tanaka in 1986. An exemplar of 1980s Japanese darkwave, the band's lone release was the 1989 private press Mothersun 7", a Xymox-tinged single limited to a mere two hundred, hand-numbered copies. Now, remastered from the original reels, we here at Bitter Lake Recordings present to you the songs from the Mothersun 7", along with a selection of unreleased studio tracks from 1987-1991. Not only do they showcase a love for classic UK new wave and synth pop, but these unreleased tracks exhibit disparate sounds ranging from the gentle guitar ballad of "Within Me Calling" to the eponymous instrumental, which sounds as if it is scoring an intense cinematic moment set in an imagined, futuristic Neo-Tokyo. What we're left with is this essential collection of Japanese synth pop, perfectly encapsulating everything that makes the music of Diastereomer shine on thirty years later. -Adam
0 stars based on 0 reviews